JMK present Two Wheels prize at NI Road Safety Awards

By 23rd November 2018 Articles, News
NI Road Safety Awards 2018 Category Sponsor logo

JMK Solicitors were delighted to present the Ulster Grand Prix Motorcycle Awareness Project with the winner’s trophy in the Two Wheels category at the Northern Ireland Road Safety Awards 2018.

The award was presented at a prestigious event attended by more than 100 specially invited guests at Cultra Manor, Holywood.

The awards, now in their fourth year, recognise road safety champions for their contribution to helping improve safety in their communities.  They include individuals, organisations and special projects from across the voluntary, education, emergency service and business sectors.

Pat Martin MBE, Chairperson of Road Safe NI who organise the event said “We had a fantastic response to the awards again.  There is such a vibrant and committed road safety community working all over Northern Ireland.  We are delighted to play our part in recognising those who go the extra mile.   The winning entries really stood out for their efforts over a long period of time and for delivering innovative projects. 

“There is so much good work going on across our schools, local communities, emergency services and businesses.  The award winners are an inspiration to others and they is no question their efforts are saving lives on the road. 

Maurece Hutchinson, Managing Director of JMK Solicitors, said: “The UGP Road Safety Awareness project is a highly targeted campaign and the participants on the programme benefited greatly by taking part.  A number of agencies came together to deliver the project and it could be rolled out to other road safety groups”.

Winners across the other categories were Moorfields Primary School, Ballymena  (Primary School), Michael Feeney, Greenhaw PS, Derry/ Londondery (Lollipop Person), St.Patrick’s Grammar School, Downpatrick (Secondary School), Danny Toland (Driving Instructor), NIFRS Station Officer Peter Melarkey, Inspector Andrew Wilson and Constable Syd Henry (Emergency Services), Rita Bentley, Newry and Barry McGuigan, Lurgan (Voluntary Sector), Musgrave Truck Safe (HGV), Translink Safety Bus (Business), Air Ambulance Northern Ireland – (Special Merit) and Brian McMinn (Lifetime Achievement).  

For more information please visit




Leave a Reply